We have added a new column and field for phone numbers in the Consent screen within Beyond called “Verified”. This new field works similar to consent and allows you to grant or revoke “Verification” with a reason why. This new field is intended to track whether a phone number has been confirmed to belong to the consumer. Currently Verification must be set manually for each phone number in the consent screen.
Note: A phone number having verification verified or unverified does not change how DCS text messages are sent. No modifications or updates to any DCS workflow or communications is required by this change. This new field is purely to improve the ability to track the status of a phone number as well as improve how DCS works with the Reassigned Number Database (RND) feature on DAKCS Hub as described below in more detail.
Phone verification improves how DCS works when also using the Reassigned Number Database Scrub feature on DAKCS Hub. When marked as Verified, DCS will not block outgoing text messages even if the RND scrub. This allows DCS to better handle the use case for when a consumer gets a new phone number, confirms the number belongs to them, but RND still flags the number as reassigned.
If a phone number is unverified then the RND scrub feature will work as it does currently where; For an unverified number, when the RND scrub flags it as as recently reassigned, DCS will block text messages from being sent to that number.
Note: DCS still performs all other existing checks to determine if a message should be blocked from being sent. Verification only allows bypassing if the number was flagged as recently reassigned from the RND scrub.